As I write this, it has just stopped raining.

There’s something about the moment after it stopped raining that gets to me. I can’t explain the exact feeling but I can feel peace, rest, renewing, a sense of wholeness. I feel as if no matter how hard the rain fell, everything is right and everything can be right in the world again.

And it is the same feeling I get everytime I just finished crying. I feel as if no matter how hard life had been to me to bring me to tears, I get a sense of everything being right again.

Hence, while it was raining a few moments ago, I was able to write this haiku.

According to http://www.poets.org, a traditional Japanese haiku is a three-line poem with seventeen syllables, written in a 5/7/5 syllable count. Often focusing on images from nature, haiku emphasizes simplicity, intensity, and directness of expression.

After a long time of not writing poems, having written this haiku is another milestone I have.

—–

The Rain

Raindrops racing down
Cleansing, restoring, healing
And my heart’s set free

