Dearest Ching,

Hi! 🙂 I do not know if you will get to read this, knowing that you are not an avid reader of blogs. In any case, this is something I need to do because I need to get this off my chest.

You see, from the day I realized that I love you, I have saved your birthday in my Google Calendar. It was set to a yearly reminder, not because I will forget your birthday but because I just wanted to put your special day in my personal calendar. It is my own way of setting aside one day out of my 365 days in a year for you.

So yesterday, 17 October, at 00:00, my phone alarmed. And all the things I wanted to do for your birthday, if we were still together, bombarded me.

Let me take you back to the early days of our relationship. I was more excited for your birthday to come than for my birthday because of the plans I made.

I planned to ask your family and friends to make individual fan signs/ birthday greetings for you, then make a video/ slide show of it and post it on your Facebook wall. I wanted to do it so that you will realize how many people are happy and blessed to have you.

I also planned to ask your officemates to throw in a surprise party for you at the office. I know how busy you are with your work and I believe that a little fun will help better motivate you in doing your tasks.

Last but not least of all, I planned to have a weekend getaway with you. Not somewhere far off, just somewhere near like Subic or San Juan, Batangas. I know how much you love travelling as much as I do and I thought it would be a good bonding experience for us.

But then, everything changed. There is no longer you and I, no more Ching and Chubz. So I will just keep these plans I made for you in the part of my heart that will always be yours.

Before I end this letter, I just want you to know that I removed your birthday in my Calendar. Not because I hate you or because I want to forget your birthday. I did it because from now on, I will just celebrate your birthday in private. And if it will be of any importance to you, I could never bring myself to forget you because 17 means as much to me as it does to you.

Always,

Chubz

