Tags

,

While I am cracking their code, you are deciphering me
for i am a mystery, I am a locked room in a tall tower

What’s in a name? I have always wondered what my given name means because I have uncommon names. How in the world did I get my name anyway?

I got my names from my paternal and maternal grandmothers, whose names are Jovita and Maria Natividad. I am the eldest granddaughter on both sides of the family so my parents thought it fit to name me after them.

Growing up, I got used to being called Juvy by the outside world but within my family, I am Mae. Even now, only those people who really know me personally call me Mae.

I used to wonder what my names mean. So one day, I decided to search the Internet for the meaning of my names.

According to Behind the Name (http://www.behindthename.com), Juvy could be sort for something like Juvencia or Juventina, spanish names, or Juvenal like the Roman poet, all meaning “young” from latin. On the same site, Mae is said to be a variation of May, a diminutive of Mary, whose meaning is not known for certain, but there are several theories including “sea of bitterness“, “rebelliousness“, and “wished for child“.

I’m saddened with the meaning. I was hoping for a much grander, beautiful meaning behind my name. Who would want to be defined as “bitter” anyway?

But then, I was reminded of Abraham and Israel.

In Genesis 12, God called Abram and instructed him to go to the land that the Lord will show him. And on Genesis 17, God appeared to Abram to make a covenant with him. Along with the covenant of blessings was a covenant of new person. From being an “exalted father”, he became “father of a multitude”.

No longer shall your name be called Abram, but your name shall be Abraham, for I have made you the father of a multitude of nations. – Genesis 17:5 (ESV)

In Genesis 25, Rebekah, Isaac’s wife, gave birth to twin boys, Esau and Jacob. Jacob was named such because he was born holding his brother’s heel. Literally, Jacob’s name means “cheater”. He cheated Esau twice when he cheated him out of his birthright in exchange for a bowl of stew and when he cheated him again of their father’s blessings. However, just like Abraham, Jacob was given a new person when he encountered God. In Genesis 32, we find Jacob wrestling with God, saying “I will not let you go unless you bless me” (verse 26). Even with a disjointed hip, Jacob did not let God go until he received the blessing he was asking for.

And he said to him, “What is your name?” And he said, “Jacob.” 28 Then he said, “Your name shall no longer be called Jacob, but Israel,[f] for you have striven with God and with men, and have prevailed.” – Genesis 32:27-28 (ESV)

I, like Abraham and Israel, have a covenant with the Lord and have encountered the Him.

When I encountered the Lord, He also gave me a new person. He told me that I am His Princess, thus I no longer look at my name Juvy as a manifestation of immaturity but having a child-like character.

When I had my covenant with the Lord at 15, I was too young to realize then that it is the same covenant that will keep me from violating God’s command of making myself a living sacrifice (Romans 12:1). I used to be “bitter” about my relationship status but now, after a failed relationship, I am rediscovering the blessings that being single can bring me. Don’t get me wrong. Although I am enjoying being single, I will gladly give it up when the time comes that the Lord will finally fulfill the covenant I have with Him.

With my covenant with the Lord and my encounter with Him, I know that He has also given me a new person, a new name. I am His PrincessaMae, His dearly loved and treasured princess. 🙂

While I am tuning you in, you are deciphering me
not such a mystery, not such a faint in a far away sound

