Sometimes you make choices in life and sometimes choices make you. – Gayle Forman, If I Stay

Last Monday, my friends ate Mye and Sam planned to watch the movie “If I Stay”. Sam did not want me to watch it because he thinks it will only make me hold on to a relationship I’m about to let go of.

It was a good movie. And it made me cry. Not because it reminded me of the perks of being in a relationship, but because it reminded me that true love is powerful. It can make you let a person go out of your life willingly even though it kills you to do so because you know that if they stay with you, they will only suffer.

‘It’s okay,’ he tells me. ‘If you want to go. Everyone wants you to stay. I want you to stay more than I’ve ever wanted anything in my life.’ His voice cracks with emotion. He stops, clears his throat, takes a breath, and continues. ‘But that’s what I want and I could see why it might not be what you want. So I just wanted to tell you that I understand if you go. It’s okay if you have to leave us. It’s okay if you want to stop fighting.’ – Gayle Forman, If I Stay

I wanted him to stay but it is what I want. I do not fully understand the reason why he wants to go because I never had the chance to hear his side of the story. But I now know that it will be okay if he leaves, that I will be okay even if he leaves.

*****

This is a few days overdue but I want you to know that I can now let you go. I perfectly understand that we’re over. You’ve made your choice and I respect that. I am sorry if I hurt you and I am sorry that we did not work out.

Don’t worry about me. I am now starting to move on and I pray for all the best for you.

